Pro Board Fire Service Professional Qualifications System

International Accreditation for Fire Service  Organizations

hor_lin2.gif (3118 bytes)



Frequently Asked Questions
Advisory Committee
Accredited Agencies
Contact Us
Certification Search
COA Portal
Certification Video
Yahoo Group


The Committee on Accreditation (COA) is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the National Professional Qualifications System.  The COA reviews applications for accreditation and accreditation self-study documents; conducts initial and 5-year site visit evaluations; approves or denies requests for accreditation; and, ensure compliance with the operating procedures of the National Board on Fire Service Professional Qualifications.  The Advisory Committee elects six members to the COA and the elected Advisory Committee Chair sits on both the Board of Directors and the COA. The Board of Directors appoints the remaining members.   

The COA meets at least quarterly.  Requests for extension of accreditation, delegation of authority, a COA official opinion or other issues that require a review of pertinent materials must be submitted to the COA 30 days prior to their next meeting in order to be considered at that meeting.

Committee on Accreditation Members 

Accreditation Manager: Advisory Committee Chairman:
Fredrick W. Piechota Jr. [e-mail] W. G. Shelton Jr. [e-mail] 2016
PO Box 205 Virginia Department of Fire Programs
Monson, MA 01057 1005 Technology Park Dr.
413-267-5140 Glen Allen, VA 23059
COA Chairman:
Kevin J. O'Connell [e-mail] 
Louisville Fire Department (retired)
Louisville, KY 40203
Members COA:
Rose Barg [e-mail] Brian R. Brauer [e-mail
Ontario Office of the Fire Marshal and Emergency Management (retired) University of Illinois Fire Service Institute
Toronto, Ontario  11 Gerty Drive
Champaign, IL

Jerry Carter [e-mail]   Laura Corn [e-mail] 2017
PO Box 17356

Texas Engineering Extension Service

Chattanooga, TN 37415

Texas A&M University

423-876-1700 1595 Nuclear Science Rd.
College Station, TX 77843-8000
Doug Goodings [e-mail] 2017 Fred McCay [e-mail] 2015
Office of Ontario Fire Marshal Saudi Aramco Fire Protection Department
5775 Yonge St, 7th Floor Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
North York, Ontario, CA M2M 4JI 966-3-872-7074
John McPhee [e-mail] 2016 Vilma Perez-Atwood [e-mail]
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau International Association of Fire Fighters
3100 Fire Service Rd. 1750 New York Ave. NW
Ames, IA 50011 Washington, DC 20006
888.469.2374 (202) 824-1536
Lawrence L. Preston [e-mail] 2016 Craig Richardson [e-mail] 2015
Maryland Fire Rescue Institute Nanaimo Fire Rescue
4500 Paint Branch Pky. 200-575 Fitzwilliam Street
College Park, MD 20742 Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada V9R-3B2
301.226.9994 250-755-4557
Chris Senaratne [e-mail]   Liz Summers [e-mail]
Lakeland College Emergency Training Centre Atlanta Fire Department (retired)
5704 College Drive 9245 Whaley's Lake Lane

Vermilion, Alberta, Canada T9X 1K4

Jonesboro GA, 30238
780 581 2029 678.789.6680


Home | History | Board | C O A | Advisory Committee | Accredited Agencies | Contact Us | Newsletter | Documents

The Pro Board
PO Box  690632
Quincy, MA 02269
Phone: 617-984-7474

Contact Webguy: Kevin O'Connell